Monday, 29 February 2016

Citing Commissioner Clears Brown

Getty Images 
Mike Brown has escaped being cited for kicking Conor Murray in the Six Nations victory over Ireland.

Brown had protested his innocence after making contact with the Ireland scrum-half’s head while trying to kick the ball free during Saturday’s 21-10 win, tweeting: “Video ref clearly showed I didn’t [do anything wrong] and kicked the ball.” 

The referee Romain Poite judged the contact was accidental, though Murray required stitches for a head wound. The citing commissioner agreed.

The Ireland coach, Joe Schmidt, absolved the full-back of blame: “I know Mike Brown wouldn’t have done it on purpose, he was trying to connect with the ball, but it’s not something for us to influence whether he was culpable for being reckless or whatever.”


Post a Comment